The Nicholas Danby Trust at the Royal Academy of Music; Recital by Andrzej Malitowski, Nicholas Danby Scholar 2017-2019


The Nicholas Danby Trust was founded in 1997 in memory of the distinguished international organist and conservatoire teacher who was previously head of the organ department at the Academy.  The aim of this public charitable trust is to offer a major European scholarship and also bursaries to enable young organists of exceptional talent to undertake conservatoire study outside their home traditions in Europe.  The awards are therefore available to UK students for study elsewhere in Europe and to students from continental Europe for study in the UK. 

Concert programme:

Johann Sebastian Bach - Toccata and Fugue in F Major, BWV 540

Louis Vierne - Allegro Vivace (from Symphony No 1, Op 14)

Louis Vierne - Adagio (from Symphony No 6, Op 59)

William Bolcom - Just As I Am (from Gospel Preludes)

Sigfrid Karg-Elert - Symphonic Chorale Jesu, meine Freude, Op 87 No 2

  1. Introduzione (Inferno)
  2. Canzone
  3. Fuga con Corale

Tickets for the recital are free from the Academy's website. 

The recital is followed by a drinks and canapés reception (£20). Tickets for the reception are available from The Secretary of the Nicholas Danby Trust by emailing or calling 020 8874 2757.

Trustees: Stephen Turvey, Maggie Danby, Patrick Russill, James O’Donnell, Catherine Ennis, Peter Wright, Barry Woodman, Mary Danby Calvert.


People who bought this also bought: