Edward Gardner conducts the Academy Symphony Orchestra

Edward Gardner

Edward Gardner conductor
Junyan Chen piano

Bartók Suite from The Miraculous Mandarin, Op 19
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No 4 in G minor, Op 40
Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet, Op 64 (excerpts from Suites Nos 1 and 2)

Edward Gardner, Sir Charles Mackerras Chair of Conducting at the Academy and Chief Conductor of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, conducts the Academy Symphony Orchestra in a programme opening with the suite from Bartók’s pantomime ballet The Miraculous Mandarin, premiered in Cologne in 1926 and subsequently banned on moral grounds.

Completed in its original version in the same year, Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 4 was revised in 1928 and then in 1941. The final version of the work is performed in this concert by Academy student Junyan Chen.

Excerpts from Suites Nos 1 and 2 of Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet, extracted from the original ballet for concert performance, complete the programme.

People who bought this also bought:

Download Diary