Bach the European: From Ancient Cosmos towards Enlightenment - Bach and the Creation of Modern Europe: Germany

Bach and the Creation of Modern Europe: Germany Image

John Butt director

JS Bach Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 227
Schütz Selig sind die Toten, SWV 391
Meine Seele erhebt den Herren, SWV 494
Scheidt Komm heiliger Geist, Herre Gott
JC Bach (elder) Fürchte dich nicht
JS Bach Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225

It is perhaps in his motets that JS Bach’s German musical heritage finds its purest expression. In this concert two of his masterpieces, the funeral motet Jesu, meine Freude and the joyful Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied are placed side by side with some of the choicest German devotional music of the 17th century: Schütz’s German Magnificat and his delicate Selig sind die Toten, Scheidt’s Pentecost motet and Johann Christoph Bach’s Fürchte dich nicht, whose text was later set by his younger cousin Sebastian.

Performed on historical instruments.

People who bought this also bought:

Download Diary