John Wilson conducts the Academy Symphony Orchestra

John Wilson

John Wilson conductor
Bocheng Wang piano

Brett Dean Komarov’s Fall
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No 3 in C, Op 26
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 6 in B minor, Op 74, ‘Pathétique’

John Wilson, conductor of the Sinfonia of London and founder of the John Wilson Orchestra, presents two Russian masterpieces: Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No 3, performed by Academy piano student Bocheng Wang, and Tchaikovsky’s ‘Pathétique’ Symphony. These works are complemented by Australian composer Brett Dean’s 2006 work, written in memory of Soviet cosmonaut Vladimir Mikhaylovich Komarov, who died upon re-entry to the earth’s atmosphere in 1967. Commissioned by the Berlin Philharmonic as part of their ‘Ad Astra’ project, Komarov’s Fall takes as inspiration the eerie sounds found in recordings of space telemetry signals.

People who bought this also bought: