Hitting the Right Note: Amazing Women of the Academy - Piano Recital

Piano Recital March 7th Image

Junyan Chen, Xiaowen Shang and Harry Rylance piano

JS Bach transc Myra Hess Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring, BWV 147 (piano four hands)
JS Bach transc Harriet Cohen Sleepers Awake (piano four hands)
Bartók Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm
Augusta Read Thomas Rain at Funeral – Homage to Morton Feldman; Twitter- Machines – Homage to David Rakowski
Freya Waley-Cohen Southern Lament
Eleanor Alberga It’s Time
Annie Lennox transc Joanna MacGregor Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This); Little Bird (piano four hands)
Litolff transc Moura Lympany Scherzo (piano four hands)

Professor Joanna MacGregor OBE introduces the music of influential female pianists, singers and composers from the Academy. The programme includes transcriptions by Myra Hess, Harriet Cohen and Moura Lympany, as well as Bartók’s Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm, which were famously dedicated to, and premiered by, Harriet Cohen.

Free, no tickets required.

People who bought this also bought:

Download Diary